Books, Meme

First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros #1

Happy Tuesday, friends! Every Tuesday, Diane @  hosts First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros in which bloggers share the first paragraph of a book they’re reading or thinking of reading soon.

The very next book in my TBR pile is “The Book of Negroes” by Lawrence Hill. Here’s bringing you the first paragraph of the book.

book_review

And now I am old
{LONDON, 1802}

I SEEM TO HAVE TROUBLE DYING. By all rights, I should not have lived this long. But I still can smell trouble riding on any wind, just as surely as I could tell you whether it is a stew of chicken necks or pigs’ feet bubbling in the iron pot on the fire. And my ears still work just as good as a hound dog’s. People assume that just because you don’t stand as straight as a sapling, you’re deaf. Or that your mind is like pumpkin mush. The other day, when I was being led into a meeting with a bishop, one of the society ladies told another, “We must get this woman into Parliament soon. Who knows how much longer she’ll be with us?” Half bent though I was, I dug my fingers into her ribs. She let out a shriek and spun around to face me. “Careful,” I told her, “I may outlast you!”

With a very interesting story line and over 500 pages, this one is going to be one lengthy but captivating read. What do you think?

3 thoughts on “First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros #1”

Leave a Reply

